CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

MLB: A's-Indians replay ruling to stand

Torre says 'improper call was made' by crew chief Hernandez

MLB: A's-Indians replay ruling to stand play video for MLB: A's-Indians replay ruling to stand

Major League Baseball issued a statement Thursday regarding the disputed instant-replay ruling in the ninth inning of Wednesday's A's-Indians game, acknowledging the call was "improper," but saying it will stand as final.

In the wake of what appeared to be a game-tying homer but ruled a double, leading to the ejection of A's manager Bob Melvin before the Indians held on for a 4-3 victory, MLB executive vice president for baseball operations Joe Torre said via a statement:

"By rule, the decision to reverse a call by use of instant replay is at the sole discretion of the crew chief. In the opinion of Angel Hernandez, who was last night's crew chief, there was not clear and convincing evidence to overturn the decision on the field. It was a judgment call, and as such, it stands as final.

"Home and away broadcast feeds are available for all uses of instant replay, and they were available to the crew last night. Given what we saw, we recognize that an improper call was made. Perfection is an impossible standard in any endeavor, but our goal is always to get the calls right. Earlier this morning, we began the process of speaking with the crew to thoroughly review all the circumstances surrounding last night's decision."

The disputed play occurred when Oakland's Adam Rosales hit a long drive to left-center field for what appeared to be a game-tying home run with two outs in the ninth, but it was called in play on the field and Rosales reached second base. Numerous replays appeared to show the ball clearing the yellow line atop the fence at Progressive Field, caroming off a railing.

But after the umpiring crew viewed the replay, Hernandez emerged from beneath the stands and ruled that Rosales would have to stay at second base, drawing an angry reaction from Melvin, who then was ejected. The A's loaded the bases before a Seth Smith groundout ended the game.

John Schlegel is a national reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{}
{}