Now Commenting On:

Josh Donaldson named A's nominee for 2013 Hank Aaron Award


Major League Baseball and MLB Advanced Media announced that fans can vote for the 2013 Hank Aaron Award exclusively online at MLB.com and the 30 Club sites. For the fourth straight year, a special panel of Hall of Fame players led by Hank Aaron will join fans in voting for the award, which is officially sanctioned by Major League Baseball and has recognized the most outstanding offensive performer in each League since it was established in 1999.

The finalists for the 2013 Hank Aaron Award are:

American League

Baltimore Orioles - Chris Davis

Boston Red Sox - David Ortiz

Chicago White Sox - Alexei Ramirez

Cleveland Indians - Jason Kipnis

Detroit Tigers - Miguel Cabrera

Houston Astros - Jason Castro

Kansas City Royals - Eric Hosmer

LA Angels of Anaheim - Mike Trout

Minnesota Twins - Joe Mauer

New York Yankees - Robinson Cano

Oakland Athletics - Josh Donaldson

Seattle Mariners - Kendrys Morales

Tampa Bay Rays - Evan Longoria

Texas Rangers - Adrian Beltre

Toronto Blue Jays - Edwin Encarnacion

National League

Arizona Diamondbacks - Paul Goldschmidt

Atlanta Braves - Freddie Freeman

Chicago Cubs - Nate Schierholtz

Cincinnati Reds - Jay Bruce

Colorado Rockies - Michael Cuddyer

Los Angeles Dodgers - Hanley Ramirez

Miami Marlins - Giancarlo Stanton

Milwaukee Brewers - Carlos Gomez

New York Mets - David Wright

Philadelphia Phillies - Domonic Brown

Pittsburgh Pirates - Andrew McCutchen

St. Louis Cardinals - Matt Carpenter

San Diego Padres - Will Venable

San Francisco Giants - Hunter Pence

Washington Nationals - Jayson Werth

The Hall of Fame panel led by Aaron includes some of the greatest offensive players of all-time -Roberto Alomar, Johnny Bench, Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor, Eddie Murray and Robin Yount. These Hall of Famers - who combined for 17,629 hits, 8,278 RBI and 1,723 home runs - have all been personally selected by Hank Aaron to lend their expertise to select the best offensive performer in each League.

Donaldson was the A's top offensive performer in 2013 as he batted .301 with 24 home runs and 93 RBI in 158 games. He became the eighth player in Oakland history to hit at least .300 with 20 or more home runs and 90 or more RBI, the first since Miguel Tejada in 2002. The 27-year-old ranked sixth in the American League in on-base percentage (.384), tied for sixth in times on base (256), tied for seventh in walks (76), ninth in slugging percentage (.499) and total bases (289) and 10th in RBI. Donaldson also tied for fourth in the AL with 56 multiple hit games, which was the third highest total in Oakland history and one short of the record of 57 (Tejada, 2002; Kotsay, 2004). In addition, he ranked third in the AL with a .364 batting average with runners on base, the fourth best batting average with runners on in Oakland history.

Continuing through October 10, fans will have the opportunity to select one American League and one National League winner from a list comprising of one finalist per Club. The winners of the 2013 Hank Aaron Award will be announced during the 2013 World Series.

"All 30 Club nominees should feel honored to be considered for an award named for one of our game's legends, Hank Aaron," said Baseball Commissioner Allan H. (Bud) Selig. "Hank was a brilliant all-around player who demonstrated great power, selectivity and baserunning in his Hall of Fame career. Our game today is fortunate to have so many dynamic players emulating the remarkable example of Hank Aaron."

"It is a great honor that Major League Baseball recognizes the most outstanding offensive performer in each League with an award in my name," said Hank Aaron. "The game is full of so many talented players today that I am thankful my fellow Hall of Famers and the fans assist in selecting the much deserving winners."

Past winners of the Hank Aaron Award include: Miguel Cabrera and Buster Posey (2012), Jose Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011), Bautista and Joey Votto (2010); Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009); Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008); Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007); Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006); David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005); Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004); Rodriguez and Pujols (2003); Rodriguez and Bonds (2001-02); Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000) and Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999).

The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th Anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth's all-time home run record, and, at that time, was the first major award introduced by Major League Baseball in more than 25 years.

Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español