{}
CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

A's will not protest Thursday's loss to Angels

Obstruction in the ninth was judgment call, not misapplication of rules

|
A's will not protest Thursday's loss to Angels play video for A's will not protest Thursday's loss to Angels

ANAHEIM -- In speaking with Major League Baseball on Friday morning about potentially filing an official protest of Thursday's loss to the Angels, manager Bob Melvin was essentially informed "that there's pretty much no chance that it's going to be overturned."

So the A's dropped it, even though they remain in disagreement with the obstruction call on Brandon Moss.

"You can't overturn a judgment call, and that's in the rulebook. I understand that," Moss said Friday. "My thing is, I don't understand how a play like that can't be reviewed. We don't have the review just to have it. We have it so that we can get plays like that right."

The controversial play occurred in the ninth inning of the A's 4-3, 10-inning loss at Angel Stadium, when Erick Aybar led off by hitting a high chopper down the first-base line off Dan Otero, who caught the ball as he collided with Moss. Aybar then ran into Otero, and home-plate umpire Greg Gibson awarded Aybar first base because he was obstructed by Moss, who was standing on the chalk.

The A's argued that Aybar veered inside the base line and intentionally ran into Otero, and they believed there was a good chance they would not have needed to use an additional two relievers in the inning -- Fernando Abad and Ryan Cook -- if Aybar did not reach first base.

"I don't fault Aybar, because what he did was smart baseball," said Moss. "I obviously don't fault Danny, because we were trying to make a play, and I don't fault Greg, because I know the play happened so fast, and it's easy to go by what you see, and if you're making that call in real time, I can easily see how either call is made."

But, he continued, "If it's reviewable, I know for a fact it's turned around."

"If you have instant replay," said Melvin, "and you have a play like that and you take a look at it on video … when I first saw it, I didn't think it was as extreme as when I saw it on video."

Moss maintained Aybar was "100 percent" out of the base line when he collided with Otero, something that would've easily been confirmed on replay.

"If that exact play happens in the Wild Card Game, or if it happens in Game 7 or Game 5 or Game 2, any important game, you're telling me we're not allowed to go back and look at it to get it right?" Moss said. "I think this call is overshadowing the fact it was a great baseball game. I think it was a big deal and a big call only because it shows something that we need to improve. If we're going to have the replay system, those are the exact calls the umpires need help with, because it's a judgment call and it's happening so fast. He might miss it, and it's OK."

Jane Lee is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{}
{}
Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español